Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motor Oil 101

Old 05-01-2013, 09:51 PM
67bmer
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Motor Oil 101

I just got a new used Cayenne and want to replace all the oils. I found this very interesting. I am an aerospace engineer and have been thinking about motor oil all wrong. Thinness is good and thickness is bad! I did not realize that oils get thicker as they get older. I was also skeptical of the 0W-XX. I have even seen people on this forum complain that Mobil 1 is "to thin" compared to other oils...

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/motor-oil-101/

Some people have said they use thicker oils because they only use their cars every 2, 3 or 4 weeks. They are afraid that thin oils will fall off the engine parts and result in a lack of lubrication at startup. Think about your lawn mower over the winter. I gets gummed up solid. The oil and fuel thicken over time resulting in engine failure. Anyway, oil on the surface of parts does not lubricate. It is the FLOW of oil between parts that lubricates. Thick, old, waxy oil can only be bad.

I have seen several car owner manuals that are now stating that oils do not need to be changed but every 7,500 miles or more. The same manual also states OR every 12 months, whichever occurs first. My feeling is that you can probably go 5,000 miles on the average (in a sports car) but you must change your oil in the spring time at a minimum, particularly up north. Oils form waxes in icy cold weather. There is a permanent thickening of the oil.

Some automotive manufacturers are backing down on oil change intervals to 5,000 miles or less and some advocate changing the oil at least every 6 months as well. I think this is because of the tendency for oils to thicken in very hot engines (not ambient conditions, just hot engines). Also because of thickening from the cold of winter and from sludge build up that cannot be filtered out.