Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Huge delay in delivery CD S. Help?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 09:41 AM
997CS4
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Huge delay in delivery CD S. Help?

I just received a call from my dealer with the disturbing news that my Cayenne V8 diesel will not be delivered at the end of May, but at mid September. I ordered the car late December 2012 with almost every option. Apparently the supply and demand for the diesel S is a mismatch in The Netherlands. Since the delay is so great I can legally walk away from my order. The problem is they gave a decent price on my 997.2 4S (MY 2010 with 80.000 km). They will get back to me with a new proposal in the next few days. I have no experience with this, what is an acceptable solution in this case? If I don’t cancel my order the new car will obviously be a 2014 model. I greatly appreciate your comments/experience in this matter.
Old 03-27-2013, 10:44 AM
steve_Cayenne
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

No expert, but they usually sell cars per a dealer allocation slot ... if demand is high that should affect waiting time for new orders, but not delay existing confirmed and slotted/booked ones?

Unless Porsche is having problems getting the CDS off the assembly lines ...

Is it possible they re-sold your car to somebody who wanted it right away, who offered them a premium? I wonder if you can ask to audit their books, and see if they will be co-incidentally receiving a build identical to yours But they could have also changed the options in the nick of time for the other buyer.

Would be interesting to see what other Europeans with CDS's on order have to say.

Waiting 4 months for a 2014 will make your car worth a few thousand more at any point in time. But I know how painful that wait is in anticipation!