Visibility Troubles, Anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 02:39 PM
Dave_D
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Unhappy Visibility Troubles, Anyone?

Hi all,

I've been driving my 2010 Transsyberia for over a year now and love, love, love this car. One bizarre thing though: my awareness of other traffic has taken a nosedive. Straight on driving is fine, but when backing up, merging, or changing lanes, for example, I keep having "oops" moments, a la "Cripes! I never saw that guy," usually followed by a well-deserved middle finger.

And it's not just me: The very first tech to take my 1-week-old baby into the garage backed it into another vehicle - $2,000 damage. "I've been doing this for 30 years and never done anything like this." No kidding. Same here. To put things in perspective, I'm a grad of the Porsche Driving School and took second at the Silver State Classic in September. I pride myself in being safe and courteous (if spirited). Okay, very spirited. But please believe me: Running into folks is way outta character for me.

The only thing I can put my finger on is that the stiff sport seats hinder upper body rotation for the purposes of routine over-the-shoulder viewing. It could also be that the double-insulated glass - its dead quiet in this SUV - has eliminated any intuition of vehicles around me. Maybe the mirrors are more convex than is typical and those vehicles are really, really "closer than they appear." I dunno. I'm stumped. But I need to figure this out or there's gonna be another accident.

Has anybody else experienced this with their Cayenne? I greatly appreciate any input.
Old 04-20-2011, 02:46 PM
PutterMcGavin
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts