Sponsored by:

Trailering with a Cayenne

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 09:03 PM
f4 plt
Rennlist Member

Received 160 Likes on 79 Posts
Default Trailering with a Cayenne

I'm about to get my new Cayenne S. I have towed my Trailex trailer around the country with my old Cayenne (2008 Cayenne GTS). I'm now considering an enclosed Trailex Trailer and am looking for comments from those that have towed and enclosed trailer with their Cayenne. Have you added mirror extensions, has the Cayenne pulled the extra weight of the enclosed trailer well. Especially for those with 2011 Cayennes, how difficult was it to wire for trailer brakes? I am getting the trailer towing option with my truck. Thanks and looking forward to comments.
Old 02-27-2011, 09:25 PM
mojom3
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been towing an enclosed Featherlight trailer for about 2 yrs. with my 04 CTT. Other than fuel mileage plummeting to the 7-9 mpg, it tows fine. A little sensitive to wind buffeting during bad weather, but otherwise great. I did have to use uugly mirror extensions that I found at wally world to be able to see behind. The Featherlite is a rounded V-nose, but not as light as the Trailex and it is a bit taller I think. You should be fine, and can use a weight distributing/sway control hitch to help. The later Cayennes require a different brake controller if you are going with electric brakes. Not sure yet what will work. My new Cayenne is on the Queen Ace which hasn't checked in in 10 days!

It should have been in Davisville on the 24th I think. Happy trailering.
Old 02-27-2011, 09:40 PM
f4 plt
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by mojom3