Sponsored by:

Hood open warning/Hood latch sensor problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2022, 07:27 PM
NY951
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Hood open warning/Hood latch sensor problem

Hello, so I have an ‘05 Cayenne Turbo and the hood open warning light indicator is driving absolutely insane. I replaced the hood latch/hood latch sensor with a new genuine part (955 511 509 02) a few weeks ago. After reassembling everything and getting the hood readjusted took it for a drive and the hood open warning indicator is still on. I readjusted the hood numerous times thereafter thinking that was the issue…but none of the hood adjustments made a lick of difference. So I then figured there was a small chance the new part was defective so I ordered another new hood latch and replaced it again today (not an easy task btw). Well, surprise surprise my hood open warning is still on :-(. I’ve been working on my Porsches and bmw’s for over 25 yrs and I have never been more aggravated than I am right now.
Anyone have any ideas?

Side note: My 955 only has 57 k miles and has been meticulously maintained since new.
Old 01-22-2022, 11:03 PM
thesteve
Burning Brakes

Received 148 Likes on 113 Posts

If you hadn't already replaced the latch assembly twice, I would have suggested jumpering out the brown wires at the plug. You can see there are only two wires connected to the microswitch from these pics.
The brownish wires. The other red wires are just connected to each other.

So it seems like you have either a bad connection at the plug, maybe a bad ground (?) a broken wire to the control module, a short along the way or a bad module.
Sorry I can't help more.
One thing for sure though, it's not a matter of adjustment. If the hood latches, the alarm shouldn't go off.

Since this module is under the driver's side dash, have you checked the splices under the carpet? (US)
Good battery? Any other electrical gremlins?
Good luck.

Old 01-22-2022, 11:48 PM
NY951
AutoX