Sponsored by:

First time Porsche owner!

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2013, 02:53 AM
jcanales925
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Porsche owner!

Hey guys, I just bought a 2001 boxster s, the 986 if I do remember right.
I'm a newb to the porsche game but come from having a few bmws. This is my 6 or 7 car now but by far my favorite! I'm pretty young (21) and I can't tell you how many ppl hate me right now, but a good half of them are pretty happy for me.
Since it is a used porsche with 114k, is there anything I need to be aware of? The air oil separator just got replaced by the way, I have to pick the car up from the dealer this week. But all in all I'm pretty excited, I just hope I'm not in too much over my head.

Name:  image-1872834446.jpg
Views: 163
Size:  525.7 KB

Any comments or advise would be great!
Old 09-10-2013, 11:41 AM
ep3_lol
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I just did the AOS on mine and it was a pain, good to have that out of the way. There are a few severe problems the motor can have, but I think it's generally accepted that if they haven't shown up by 114k miles then they are not going to show up. The biggest one that could still be around is a rear main seal leak. This was a recall item, so you shouldn't buy a 986 that hasn't had it done. Enjoy the car! I bought mine when I was 22 and it's been great.
Old 09-10-2013, 11:49 AM
ECS Tuning
Former Vendor

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome and congratulations on the purchase Take some more pictures when you get a chance.
Old 09-10-2013, 11:50 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 253 Likes on 223 Posts

Lapis blue. Just like my 02.

What to be aware of? Well, let's see... be sure the radiator ducts are kept free of trash. This can require the front bumper cover be removed and the A/C condensers unbolted and carefully swung out to allow access to the trash that collects at the bottom of the radiator ducts and between the condenser and radiator.