Sponsored by:

Virgin Porsche owner, just bought Boxster: have a few Q's

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2011, 07:48 PM
mikstew
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Virgin Porsche owner, just bought Boxster: have a few Q's

Hi all, this is my first time post (on these forums). I'd like to start by saying that I am truly impressed by the build quality in my new car. It is a 98 Boxster with 45K miles, black on "baseball" red (not sure what that means).

While my previous car ownership history includes BMWs, Audi a6, Infiniti fx-45, Volvo s80, Acura TL, MDX, and even a rotary-powered Mazda RX-7, I must say that the Porsche trumps all of these cars in some areas. Specifically, I feel a deep appreciation towards the attention to quality materials, fitments, and styling. Also, the driving experience has been the most enjoyable so far. Although the only other comparable car I've owned would be the RX-7, and I must say that the '7 was nearly as fun as the Porsche, even though I am certain the body Panels were made from tunafish cans, and the dash from recycled chopsticks.

At first I though "Porsche, pfft... it can't be THAT much better than the rest", even though that is what they say. Now, having owned the car, I can say there is certainly some truth to it. Great work, Porsche, and thanks!

Now that I have made my fanboy comments, I already have a few technical questions for those more well-versed in zee German auto-tongue.

1. The car has a new battery (a few weeks), but it seems rather weak. Turning the car over sounds like it is VERY taxing for the battery, and on a cold day, if I turn it over in some "special" way that I cannot reproduce, it will not even start the car.

2. Here in Vancouver, BC, we have a lot of rain. Rainwater is accumulating massively on the "Porsche" foot-kicks on the driver's side. Is this bad? is there some sort of window-to-door seal that is going bad?