Sponsored by:

Scavenger pumps reversed

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2010, 12:53 PM
Steve Koller
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scavenger pumps reversed

Total newb here. I recently purchased a 2003 Boxster S with 35k miles on eBay. Instead of dropping $1400 to ship the car East, I flew out to Las Vegas and drove it back home to Vermont. The car performed flawlessly over these 3200 miles though I did notice a valve tick on the right bank that only showed up after the car had been driven until warm and disappeared when the engine was cold. The tick has stayed stable over 3500 miles. I brought the car into my local Porsche dealer on arriving home to get the oil changed and to have them give the car a once-over (and to give the valve tick a listen- I know boxer engines can be a bit clattery in general but I don't know how much clatter is too much). They reported that, according to the identifying marks, the oil scavenge pumps were reversed and that the car ought not be driven until this was corrected!

Is it possible to mistakenly reverse the oil scavenge pumps on this engine? If so, what possible consequences could result? Could this result in aerated oil and valve noise?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 04-13-2010, 03:52 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 252 Likes on 222 Posts

Originally Posted by Steve Koller