Sponsored by:

Boxster vs Carrera - touring

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 03:15 PM
purrybonker
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boxster vs Carrera - touring

Lots of us hand wring over whether to go Boxster or 911. I've done it on and off for years but haven't strayed from the 911 camp (yet). I'm implicitly drawn to the driving, sporting characteristics of the Boxster S, but I've been disuaded because of concerns about reduced "practicality" compared to the 911 cab, particularly as a touring car.

I like to take unstructured road trips, like say hopping in the car and driving from Vancouver to Palm Springs via LA, San Diego or something like that. My GF will fly down and we'll connect somewhere for a vacation, but she's not the big driving fan that I am, so I do lots of miles solo.

I gave up working for a living so I plan to do even more touring with my next Porsche purchase.

I have a hard time thinking about giving up that back seat in going from a 911 cab to a Boxster. It's much too convenient a place to toss stuff and keep necessaries handy while on the road, plus I'm thinking that that smaller interior space of the Boxster might get irritating on long stretches with the top up.

Anyone do much touring in the Boxster?

I have a friend that seems happy as a clam touring solo in a Miata but there's not necessarily any accounting for taste or common sense.
Old 05-11-2008, 06:02 PM
dennisafrompa
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

..yes, i have 3 cross country trips in my '04 Anniversary Edition.

In '05 to San Diego and back...spent 2 months away fro PAs winter (Mid jan to Mid March)

In '06 a trip to Portland OR for the Porsche Parade, 29 days and 7700 miles. Visited 3 national Parks, the Black Hills and Mt St Helens in WA.

In '08 drove out to Palm Desert CA for the Winter (Jan Feb and March) once again we put 4,000 miles on the car while in CA visiting National Parks and meeting Porsche folks.