Total Noob- M96 Or Other?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2021, 11:27 AM
RennHarry
Racer

Received 204 Likes on 143 Posts
Default Total Noob- M96 Or Other?

Hello there, rennlisters.
Total Noobie here. I just want to say thanks to all the incredible members and the knowledge that is so freely dispensed here.
I find myself at a point in life where I'd like a fun car. Kids are in college (or out), wife and I can slow down and have some fun hobbies, etc. Being a practical guy, I have always owned practical cars; Honda Pilots, Odysseys (wife's cars) Explorers, etc. The closest thing to sporty was my 1989 Acura Integra. The closest thing to Porsche was my wife's 2002 Passat wagon (fun little rocket but the single most unreliable car I have ever owned, holy smokes)
I wrench a little bit; spark plugs, brakes, fluid flushes, etc. and might like to improve my skills and learn more. We have some garage space.
I have spent much of my COVID spare time boning up on this site. I particularly enjoy the 928 group, and would REALLY love to own one but am not sure I'm in for that level of dedication.
The Boxster seems like a great entry point but I would love to hear others' opinions regarding the wisdom of the 986 versus newer models. I know I can buy a 986 at a reasonable price; I know that I can do a PPI, and look for bore scoring etc.; I can look and see if the IMS was done. And that's all well and good but if the engine then suffers a failure, it's $20K+ to fix a $9K car. For what it's worth, a fun weekend car that costs $9K and blows up a year after I buy it would not be a satisfying experience, but no biggie from a financial standpoint. I could rinse and repeat a few times for what a more "modern" Boxster costs...
It seems to me that the real killjoy is the M96.
Knowing that it's quite a bit more money, am I better off ponying up and getting a newer Boxster with the next gen engine?
Cheers
Old 03-13-2021, 01:39 PM
Byprodriver
Rennlist Member

Received 173 Likes on 135 Posts