Notices

need tires, which ones should I buy......

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2010 | 12:13 AM
RaceCarDriver
Rennlist Member

Default need tires, which ones should I buy......

I own a 2002 Porsche 996 C4S coupe. It's a daily driver. I autocross it once a month. I've due for a new set of street tires, I currently have the oem conti sports in stock sizes, 225/40/18 front and 295/30/18.

I'm looking for a street tire that can also be a decent autocross tire.

I autocross in stock class so I want to keep the same tire sizes. I live too far from the nearest auto cross to run R compounds on the street.

Is there a tire that can be used daily in the rain, etc and still give a better autocross time than the oem conti sports?

I was thinking maybe the Yokohama AD08. Are they as good as conti's in the rain? Are they louder?

I'm open to suggestions.

please give me your opinions.

thank you,

Glenn
Old 05-25-2010 | 02:12 PM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member

I have no direct experience with those two tires, but, from the Tire Rack tire test reports, I suspect that the AD08's will be quicker at AX than the Conti's. Another street tire that has tested well for autocross is the Bridgestone RE-11. I've used RE-11s on the road and in 4 autocrosses this season, and have been very impressed with them. They seem to provide grip somewhere between the OEM Michelin PS2s and my Yoko R888s (a R-comp tire) that I sometimes run on. You can check the tire test reports at www.tirerack.com. I think the AD08 and the RE-11 were in the same test, along with a couple of other comparable tires.
Old 05-25-2010 | 03:55 PM
RaceCarDriver
Rennlist Member

thank you for your input. Unfortunately the Bridgestone RE-11's don't come in my oem tire sizes, unless someone else sells them besides tire rack.

I need to stay with the oem tire sizes to stay in stock class.
Old 05-25-2010 | 06:24 PM
sjfehr
Drifting