Notices

Overheating Tires?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2007, 02:18 PM
smackboy1
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Overheating Tires?

I'm new at autoX so could use some advice. Thanks.

I noticed that as my autoX school went on, my tires would get progressively more "greasy" feeling. It was about 100* outside and I was running maybe 5-6 runs at a time with maybe 2-5 minutes between runs. At the end of the day I was sliding all over the place and someone commented that I probably overheated my tires. The tread looked like Edward James Olmos' face and felt pretty hot and gummy (I don't have a pyrometer). I had F 36 psi R 44 psi cold in the morning and didn't check them during the day (I didn't notice anybody else checking their tires). The tire wear comes right up to the edge of the tread but not over onto the sidewall.

Will overheating the tires permanently affect them? What can I do to get rid of the "greasy" feeling? How do I know when it's time to replace my tires?
Old 08-14-2007, 02:38 PM
Joe Weinstein
Three Wheelin'

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

overheating is mostly temporary. You should have checked your pressures a few times
as they got hotter. Your stick may have gone away because of heat-induced over-
inflation. You should ask around for the ideal temperature range for your tire, and
in a case where it may go over, you can use a water spray bottle to cool them off
between runs. Street tires should be replaced when the tread is too low to be safe
in the conditions you drive. If there's rain, replace at the wear bars. If only dry, you
can go lower.
Joe
Old 08-14-2007, 02:50 PM
Mussl Kar
Rennlist Member

Received 423 Likes on 292 Posts