Notices

Rollover in corner

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2006, 11:43 AM
hderr
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rollover in corner

I'm new to auto-x, twice. I really like the way the car runs and it's a hoot to drive, but, I think the suspension has some issues. I know very little about suspensions so any help would be appreciated.

As far a I can tell the suspension on this late 85, 944 is stock with the original springs, shocks, struts,... The car seems to lay way over in a hard corner, it's far worse than this picture shows, especially in a downhill turn. In fact to the point where the tire (correct size by the book) rubs the upper fender wheel well and I have to back way off on the throttle.

So I'd appreciate some advice on this. I'd like to stay in the stock class, ES.

Sorry about the poor quality of the picture as it is a snapshot from the video.

Thanks,
Hank
Attached Images  
Old 01-26-2006, 11:55 AM
Z-man
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I feel your pain:

By the looks of it, it sounds like you run with SCCA (ES class). Unfortunately, they have very strict rules in terms of what you can and can't upgrade in stock classes. Basically, what you can upgrade won't help you too much with the body lean.

There is one thing you can do - upgrade to a M030 suspension. Unfortunately, that will cost you dearly. AND: per SCCA, you will need to upgrade all of the components that came with M030 - shocks, springs, sway bars...etc. (You can't just slap on an M030 rear swaybar and be dnoe with it!)

My suggestion - leave your car as is. Keep it in sound condition. Learn the drive your car - improve the driver, not the car. Once you get better at it, you can consider upgrades - by then, you'll know what type of upgrade will suit you best.