Experienced AutoXers w/ Hoosier S04s HELP

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2004, 10:30 PM
BluemaxxRacing
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Experienced AutoXers w/ Hoosier S04s HELP

Hello Everyone!

I know this is a hot topic on here but I depserately need your help with my new tires. Here's the deal......I am a VERY experienced autocrosser running a 99 996 with PSS9s, Fikse Wheels and an aggressive alighnment setup. I have been running on Hoosier S03s for 4 years now and have ALWAYS LOVED them. I run 18" wheels with 245/35-18 in front and 285/30-18 in the rear.

Just this past week, I bought a set of S04s and this past weekend (10/2-3) went to a 2-day event in south Florida to practice for a very exciting and EXTREMELY fast (3 mi long and over 110 mph in 3 places) autocross in Key West next weekend.

Unfortunately, I did not have a very good experience with my new S04s this weekend and that is why I need your help. Just to let you know what transpired, I began the weekend running at temps that are a few lbs higher than what I ran with my S03s. I started running 33 front and 36 rear on my first run and I found alot of sliding. Second run I dropped them to my S03 temps (31 Front / 34 Rear) and this was much better, although still a little sliding. I found the fronts to be sticking fine but the rears were still shaky. Third run I decided to go higher in the rear up to 38 lbs and this was an absolute nightmare. Not only did I find the car could not hold a line due to the rear but for the first time in 6 years, I spun!