Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By: Musicar

2017 718 S Bose Stereo Question(s)

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2018, 08:58 AM
JR215
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2017 718 S Bose Stereo Question(s)

Hello All,

I am new to Porsche's and this is my first post (just picked up the car last week). I have a 718 S w/ Bose. I have searched and was unable to find the answers to the following questions:

I have been modifying my cars since I was 16 with aftermarket stereo's but I am unable to find any "how-to" guides for removal of this specific vehicles headunit, door cards, etc. I also like to see what others have done, and given the space constraints I feel like this is going to be a major influence on my path forward if I actually end up doing anything at all.

What are the speaker locations, sizes, etc. I believe there is a 3 way system in the door cards and a sub in one of the panels (I believe behind/near the glove box).
Are there rear speakers as well? If so, where are they, not that this matters much as I wouldn't have them playing if I do a stereo swap, but still good information for me to have I suppose.

I'm looking to do a set of 6.5" midbass in the door and a 3.5" wide band (300hz and up, check out Hybrid Audio Legatia L3v2 if you are curious about the speaker response) in the door/dash along with a punchy sub (would go as large as I can fit in the trunk side compartment) coupled to a Helix DSP and a JL HD 6 channel amp. Source unit would be a Alpine CarPlay unit.

What features besides the nav in the gauge cluster would I be giving up? The unit is Bluetooth compatible but would require a separate mic to be run to interface. I would use a ASWC to retain factory steering wheel controls.

Suggestions are welcomed.

Thank you,

-Jonathan
Old 08-07-2018, 07:56 PM
OliverK68
Burning Brakes

Received 377 Likes on 220 Posts