Sponsored by:

Air Conditioning-Not Very Efficient

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2012, 08:56 AM
4ocious
Three Wheelin'

Received 161 Likes on 111 Posts
Default Air Conditioning-Not Very Efficient

Since I'm relatively new to 911TT ownership I don't have a lot of experience with the air conditioning now that it's getting warmer here on the east coast. My car is a coupe and the A/C doesn't seem to cool very effieciently, effectively or consistently when it's set to "auto" i.e. on occasion it will even blow warm air. Is this normal? I don't know if the coolant has ever been checked and now that the car is 5 years old is this something that should be looked into? Thanks.
Old 06-04-2012, 08:59 AM
jhbrennan
Rennlist Member

Received 81 Likes on 73 Posts

Originally Posted by 4ocious
Since I'm relatively new to 911TT ownership I don't have a lot of experience with the air conditioning now that it's getting warmer here on the east coast. My car is a coupe and the A/C doesn't seem to cool very effieciently, effectively or consistently when it's set to "auto" i.e. on occasion it will even blow warm air. Is this normal? I don't know if the coolant has ever been checked and now that the car is 5 years old is this something that should be looked into? Thanks.
I'm in Texas and A/C cools just fine. Probably should have your's checked.
Old 06-04-2012, 09:50 AM
dianic
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

what is the temp setting that you have?
Old 06-04-2012, 10:33 AM
4ocious
Three Wheelin'

It's set at 72 but in order to get it reasonably comfortable I manually set it to 68-69 and even that doesn't do too well.
Old 06-04-2012, 10:40 AM
dianic
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I am pretty sure that you need a freon charge... It doesnt sound right. When working properly, and assuming that the car is not parked in the sun (where for the first few moments its normal for the air to be warm) it should be pretty cool inside very quickly...
Old 06-04-2012, 04:56 PM