Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

996 X50 or 997 TT

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2010 | 03:13 PM
Tall T
5th Gear

Default 996 X50 or 997 TT

Hi guys, I'm new to the world of Porsches but not to high powered sports cars. I've been lurking & learning for the last several months and am now ready to pull the trigger on a TT. I know there have been several threads here about the merits of the 996 TT vs the 997 TT & which is best or most cost effective or whatever. I've read them all. The answers usually come down to aesthetics, expected depreciation & personal preference (drive both & get the one you like).

I'm interested in hearing from the guys who have owned both. I imagine most will favor the 997 or you wouldn't have bought one. I'd really like to know why you favor the 997. I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on the differences in power, acceleration, handling, overall driving experience etc. As aesthetics are totally subjective, I'd prefer to leave that out of this discussion

This weekend I'm driving an 03 996 X50 TT & an 07 997TT one right after the other. They are both bone stock. What should I be looking for? Both cars are CPOd so I probably won't mod for awhile. This car will not be a DD. I'll drive it on trips, weekends & to work maybe once a week or so.

Thanks for your help. I really appeciate it.
Old 02-26-2010 | 04:38 PM
Macster
Race Director

Originally Posted by Tall T
Hi guys, I'm new to the world of Porsches but not to high powered sports cars. I've been lurking & learning for the last several months and am now ready to pull the trigger on a TT. I know there have been several threads here about the merits of the 996 TT vs the 997 TT & which is best or most cost effective or whatever. I've read them all. The answers usually come down to aesthetics, expected depreciation & personal preference (drive both & get the one you like).