Sponsored by:

Tiptronic versus Manual

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 11:34 PM
Solo1111
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiptronic versus Manual

I am currently placing an order for a 997 turbo but I am comtemplating on whether getting a manual versus tiptronic. I am a driver who is perfectly capable of driving manuals and own stick-shift cars.

Yes, I know manual is more fun and better car control. However, having read so many articles and reports saying that tiptronic is faster in 0-60 and 0-100, I can't help myself not to consider the tiptronic option.

Question I have is: does the Porsche tiptronic (in manual mode) acts like those regular automatic tranny where it automatically upshifts for you, or does it hold the gear and bounce with the rev limiter? I would hate the tiptronic if it is the first and not the latter.

Anyone with a tiptronic 997 turbo (or had experienced it) would like to comment?

Thanks very much.
Old 03-16-2007, 11:45 PM
allegretto
Nordschleife Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Shifts if you actually do that.

However, unless you are specifically trying to do that, it won't hurt you. For example in "Sport" on the track it will go down two shifts very quickly and hold the gear with power on all the way up, just as you would when driving it.

On one of our tracks there is a small kink that only requires one down then in 60 or so yards a 120 right that requires two more and the trans "knew" what to do. Ask the instructors at DE, you have to be really really good to beat a Tip with a stick.

I loved the Tip because it was my DD.
Old 03-17-2007, 12:48 PM
AAHTT
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Solo1111
I am currently placing an order for a 997 turbo but I am comtemplating on whether getting a manual versus tiptronic. I am a driver who is perfectly capable of driving manuals and own stick-shift cars.