Notices
997 Turbo Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hydraulic oil leak at reservoir - but still full?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2020, 10:20 AM
Ryans Rebel
Rennlist Member

Received 132 Likes on 61 Posts
Default Hydraulic oil leak at reservoir - but still full?

I'm relatively new to P-cars. I searched but maybe I'm not using the right key words to find answers to my problem.

2007 turbo MT. Have had it for a few months, driven a few hundred miles so far without any issues. Last drove it about 5 days ago. Yesterday I noticed the spill guard lip at the reservoir was FULL of hydraulic oil. There was also some on the floor. Interesting because the leak must have occurred after I parked the car, because there is no way the spill guard would be that full unless it was filled while sitting there stationary (any movement would have spilled some out). So, I check the level in the reservoir and it is to the fill line on the HOT side (engine cold - did not start it prior to checking level).

I assume this system only services the steering? Where could all of this oil be coming from? Over filled reservoir? Is this a common issue? If so I cannot seem to find any info on it. Any help would be appreciated.

Ryan

Old 03-12-2020, 12:14 PM
Ryans Rebel
Rennlist Member

Looking in the catalog, this system appears to service only the power steering. Last time I drove the car I did not notice any difference in steering input or response. Could it be as simple as a bad o-ring seal at the cap? Still trying to understand why there is so much fluid though. Is there a component in the steering system that is known to collapse, effectively reducing the volume of the system causing an overfill?
Old 03-12-2020, 12:18 PM
Ryans Rebel
Rennlist Member

Wait a second.........

Looking again at my picture it looks like there is fluid on top of the fill cap! Could that be dripping down from the hydraulic spoiler actuators?
Old 03-12-2020, 01:33 PM
lliejk
Three Wheelin'