Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

Thoughts on the car after my first track day

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2015, 01:31 PM
ngng
Drifting

Received 308 Likes on 187 Posts
Default Thoughts on the car after my first track day

The frog is ridiculous, especially when I tried to take the Miata line . I'm really happy with how the car is set up right now, but will make a few more small changes like sway bars and a more aggressive alignment down the road. As a driver, I've been working on keeping my eyes up and smoothing out my transitions from brake to throttle, and vice versa.

Only a few things I'm unhappy with:
- Still get the occasional grind on my 3-2 downshift, even with my Numeric set to something a little less aggressive. Such horrible sounds :/
- Need more, stickier tires...running 235 and 305 Hankook RS3s. Good tires for the street, but not sticky enough for me on track. ABS would kick in almost immediately after high speed braking: T1, T5, T9, T10, T14 (I think this is also contributing to my brake fade)
- Gas pedal position is too low and makes it difficulty to heel toe consistently. I have some SRP pedals that I am planning on installing, any idea if this will solve my problem?

Best lap:

Last edited by ngng; 01-12-2015 at 01:50 PM.
Old 01-12-2015, 02:12 PM
Spyerx
Rennlist Member

Received 1,807 Likes on 1,102 Posts

I'm really happy with how the car is set up right now, but will make a few more small changes like sway bars and a more aggressive alignment down the road. As a driver, I've been working on keeping my eyes up and smoothing out my transitions from brake to throttle, and vice versa.
Car seemed a bit tail happy at not so aggressive speeds. Tires or setup? You're on adjustable dampers right?

- Still get the occasional grind on my 3-2 downshift, even with my Numeric set to something a little less aggressive. Such horrible sounds :/