Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

Anyone done the Porsche Driving School at Barber

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 11:02 PM
scott40
Rennlist Member

Received 99 Likes on 50 Posts
Default Anyone done the Porsche Driving School at Barber

Track looks nice. Very nice hotel. Wondering what the event is like??
Old 03-22-2011, 11:21 PM
Chris R.
Rennlist Member

Received 59 Likes on 27 Posts

I did it last year. Very fun.
The hotel was super nice although its a bit far from the track.
The event is good, I did the masters course (2 days) last April. The amount of time in the classroom is short enough not to be boring and then you get out on the track to go through different sections an then the whole track at speed. There is also some very fun skidpad fun (man is it ever slippery!!) as well as an autoX with boxsters and we also go to beat on a Panemera Turbo.
The quality of instruction was excellent and I can honestly say, as a PCA instructor, I learned a coupe of great things that I use and now incorporate into my teaching.
They also get you into the cars and video a few laps which is cool.
The track is amazing and the amendments (track museum, etc) is something to see.

Hope that helps.
Old 03-22-2011, 11:25 PM
bravocharlie
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ditto. I did it a few years ago and did a write up on here somewhere including a bunch of photos. Sorry, I took the photos down a while ago, but here's the thread.

https://rennlist.com/forums/997-foru...e-for-pde.html
Old 03-22-2011, 11:26 PM
996toomey
Three Wheelin'

Received 46 Likes on 21 Posts

I was there in Nov 2006 and did the entry level 2 day course and loved it. I stayed at Ross Bridge and liked it too.

I am sure MJones will be along here to add his experiences. I believe he has been more than once.
Old 03-23-2011, 01:12 AM
MJones
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

PSDS I've done it more than a few times since 2002, and will be going again in late April.