Porsche and Forza 3

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2010, 10:56 PM
911GT3
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Porsche and Forza 3

Two part question:

#1: Does anyone race on the XBOX 360 Forza? I have done some with my son, and it really seems to mimic the handling characteristics of the cars. I have never been on the track, but can pilot the 914 much better than an equally powerful 911 with it's understeer. And the GT3 (the car I own) is even harder to handle with it's power. Are these characteristics accurate on the game?

#2: I am new to Porsche and sport driving, and I plan to take driving instruction. I have done one lesson at Mid-Ohio (defensive driving with skidpad, collision avoidance and panic braking), but have not had any track instruction as yet. I am afraid to take my new gt3 on the track being such a newbie. Is this reasonable? Should I buy a track car -- something used and not too powerful to start? I am sure these are very broad questions with a huge range of answers, but any insight is appreciated.

Thank you.

I have tried to include pics but am having difficulty.

2010 GT3 PCCB, lift, DEM
1996 C-4
Moto Guzzi V11 Coppa Italia
BMW motorcycles - too many
Old 01-07-2010, 11:07 PM
DrJupeman
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Yes, I race Forza 3 on the XBox. I do not think they have modeled the 911 characteristics correctly in the game.

You can take your GT3 on the track, that is what it is made for. In general, I do not consider it a great leaners car as it handles too well and it is extremely powerful. A (much) slower car would be a better platform to learn how to drive.
Old 01-07-2010, 11:28 PM
eclou
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1,226 Likes on 599 Posts

I just got it and have run mainly the Abarth and Ford Focus, but have tried the 996GT3 and 997tt. I think the modeling may not be perfect but it definitely reflects significant differences in the cars.
Old 01-08-2010, 12:47 AM
ervtx
Addict
Rennlist Member