Notices
997 GT2/GT3 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

911 driving style. Any "official" reports?

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2007, 10:15 PM
fapena
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 911 driving style. Any "official" reports?

After putting 6000 miles on my GT3 and going to several DEs I am still learning the most efficient way to drive such a peculiar car.

Is anybody aware of any articles by any reputable professional driver making reference to the most efficient and fast way to drive a modern 911, GT3 or not?

Thank you all
Old 09-11-2007, 12:12 PM
NoSubEDU
Burning Brakes

Received 19 Likes on 7 Posts

Good tip: gas pedal is your friend. ;-)

If you find something, I'd like to read it as well.
Old 09-11-2007, 12:28 PM
chardonet
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

See this post for "unofficial" report:

W.Roehrl in rain on the Nuerburgring - funny vid

I also am interested.
Old 09-11-2007, 12:31 PM
OldGuy
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 51 Likes on 11 Posts

WOW after driving a 993TT the 996 GT3 and the 997 GT3 I have lost the peculiar feeling-
it now feels natural.
Old 09-11-2007, 02:20 PM
NoSubEDU
Burning Brakes

Received 19 Likes on 7 Posts

OG, I agree with you, however, for those that have yet to fully engage a 911 on the track it can be very intimidating. I for 1 was extremely nervous when I started driving my 993 on the track (I bought it so I could feel more comfortable driving my 997, whether on the street OR track...it was my 911-trainer)

I remember my head being filled with every objection regarding this car and it's weight balance - oh they are a handful. Oh your going to wreck it. Are you really going to drive that on track? You name it, I heard it.