Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Forum and internet ruining ownership experience…?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2016, 04:17 PM
DWNDRAFT
Instructor

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Forum and internet ruining ownership experience…?

I wonder if other owners recognize this feeling, and maybe even know how to deal with it…?

Having owned a few different cars thru the years from 80sand 90s Ferraris, and Lamborghinis to Corvettes and vintage Porches, I am surprised that with THIS car I am suddenly spending time worrying about my car shealth, to the point where it affects my enjoyment of the car.

I am new in my 997 ownership, and I really enjoy driving the car, in fact it’shard to stop driving it.

The searched to find the 997 with exactly the specs I wanted was long, and during that search I off cause read some good buyers guides, andalso some horror stories. I have since then read more as I dived into theownership. I kind of wish I hadn’t..

In ended up with what I understand now is relatively high mileage997 (?) a 2006 997C4S manual. It has 88K miles.

I sort of made peace with the IMS, I think, but now I can start to worry about the mighty bore score issue, that is somewhere between low risk and waiting just around the corner to explode my engine, as is can read in a variety of forums, guides etc.

Never have I spend more time listing for ticking noises,looking at and comparing tail pipe colors, monitoring oil consumption and adapting/nursing my driving habits, as with this car.

I really enjoy the forum and communities around the cars andall the support and knowhow that is available, but I have never owned a car where there was this much talk around certain issues and where you constantly haveto gauge facts, stories and commercial interest to this level.

So, am I the only one that would like a “memory flash” and just go drive?,.. even if it does go bang
Old 05-05-2016, 04:22 PM
caitov
Rennlist Member

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts