Replacing 997.2 Air Oil Separator AOS

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2015, 12:44 AM
Craigw1926
Track Day

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Replacing 997.2 Air Oil Separator AOS

Preface:

A little background to start. I've owned a Boxster S and Cayenne S in the past, but I'm new to 911 ownership. I'm always up to DIY the easy stuff (oil, brakes, stuff like that), but I'm certainly no mechanic).

I recently purchased a 2009 Targa 4 (997.2 3.6). It had very high miles (95k then, 100k now), but the price was right and the engines seemed to have so far proven reliable so why not, right? I'm anticipating the issues that come along with owning a high mileage car and the first one has recently arrived.

I'm dealing with a flashing CEL and misfires on all cylinders 4,5,6 (all of bank 2). I've been told to check everything from MAF to plugs and coils, to AOS and variocam system. Anyway, I won't go too far into the troubleshooting except to say that although I'm totally averse to replacing good parts for no reason, I've noticed that lazy dealerships and mechanics seem to be doing that more and more. So rather than handing them hundreds and hundreds of dollars to troubleshoot and throw parts at it, I decided to do the easy stuff my self.

Found oil in intake plenum (small pools) and oil coating the throttle body. I was never convinced the AOS was causing my misfires because they were isolated to just one bank and the AOS affects both banks equally. But I was getting some indications the AOS was starting to fail and my Porsche mechanic said that's where'd he'd start if I brought the car to him. Part was $100 even from the dealership and book time was 3 hours, so I decided to change it myself and save a little labor cost.