997 GTS: 2nd gear / accelerating from low rev's / idle noises

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2015, 05:55 PM
one-rennlist
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 997 GTS: 2nd gear / accelerating from low rev's / idle noises

Hi all

I finally pulled the trigger and am very happy with the addition of a 997 GTS Cab 6MT to my garage! I noticed two things with my car though:
- Engaging second gear (coming from first) was heavier than the other gear changes and made slight grinding noises (happened with cold engine and transmission, it's fine when both are warm)
- Acceleration from low rev's (ca. 1'000 RPM) without gear change shows a slight pause in power delivery when passing 2'000 RPM (independent of engine temperature)
- Lot of audible high pitched rattle (valve play?) when idling (independent of engine temperature)
- Fluctuating idling RPM of about +- 100 RPM (barely discernible movement of the RPM needle)

Any ideas? As for the two last three issues please know I'm no expert on how a B6 DFI should sound and/or behave...

Nicola

Last edited by one-rennlist; 05-14-2015 at 06:12 PM. Reason: Added Detail idling RPM
Old 05-14-2015, 06:01 PM
Para82
Race Car

Received 38 Likes on 24 Posts

I would get that transmission looked at, you shouldn't have any grinding. They can get notchy in cold weather, i've had 1st gear be a little stubborn when first driving on a cold day, but that's fairly normal. The grinding is something i've never experienced in 72,000 miles of driving my 6MT 997...
Old 05-15-2015, 04:01 PM
one-rennlist
Instructor

Regarding the switch to second gear: After a cold start today there was no grinding, just a tactile feeling of the teeth giving resistance when engaging.
Old 05-15-2015, 04:31 PM
scorcherjf
Racer

Received 45 Likes on 18 Posts