Sponsored by:

Hard-wiring a Qi wireless charger into a 997

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2014, 07:15 PM
pugwonk
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard-wiring a Qi wireless charger into a 997

Having lurked on this forum for a while and given not a lot back, I thought I'd write up my Qi wireless charger install. I'm not an expert in this sort of thing, so if anyone has any suggested changes to this please feel free to comment.

I've had a couple of phones with Qi wireless charging capability and I've often thought that having Qi charging in the car would be a great feature. Here's my write-up of exactly how I got Qi charging working in my 997 Carrera. This will likely work for all 997.1 and 997.2 models.

Normally I mount phones on the windscreen, but the 997 climate control doesn't normally put much cold air up there, and once it gets too hot your phone will stop charging. So I'm using a vent mount.

Things you should know up front:
  • Qi does not charge your phone as fast as plugging it in directly. It's probably a full 50% slower. If I run Google Maps with the screen on constantly, the phone still discharges slowly. But, man, it's easier to plug in.
  • Mounting the phone in the way I'm going to lay out makes it difficult (but not impossible) to access the flow on/off controls for the central dash air vents, and the hazard warning light switch.
  • The instructions here are for a left-hand-drive car - if you have an RHD car, you'll need to buy a different bracket and reverse some of the directions.
Things you need to purchase:
  • A Brodit ProClip center mount bracket (link to left-hand drive one - there's a different one for RHD), but you can't buy it directly from Brodit. You can buy it from ProClip USA, their distributor, for $29.99. This bracket fits tightly onto your left console air vent - you're supposed to use it to mount a Brodit ProClip mount, but we have other plans.