Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

replacing Spark Plugs... do the coils too?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2014 | 03:17 PM
Dark Helmet
Instructor

Default replacing Spark Plugs... do the coils too?

'05 997.1 C2 6MT... 39K miles...

I don't think the plugs have ever been done... so I was planning to do that here when I have a weekend off.

question is to eat another $300 and do the coils too?

there have been no codes or misfires of any sort... ignition system seems to be a-ok...

I'm somewhat wary of the "go get the parts-gun" approach, but the labor is just enough to make me think...

is there a "normal" failure mileage for the coils?
Old 08-12-2014 | 03:31 PM
user 72902
Banned

I did when I replaced my pugs because you have to take them off and they are 9+ years old. Some people like to wait until a part fails to replace which is good because it saves you money by getting 100% life from a component before it is replaced. I am a little more pro-active and replace items before they wear out so I tend to replace items that still have serviceable life left in them but hope it minimizes the potential for break downs.
Old 08-12-2014 | 03:34 PM
user 72902
Banned

Also time is another consideration for the replacment on your coils - not just the mileage.

GL
Old 08-12-2014 | 03:53 PM
Dark Helmet
Instructor

^^^ fair point...
Old 08-12-2014 | 03:58 PM
Macster
Race Director

Originally Posted by Dark Helmet
'05 997.1 C2 6MT... 39K miles...

I don't think the plugs have ever been done... so I was planning to do that here when I have a weekend off.

question is to eat another $300 and do the coils too?

there have been no codes or misfires of any sort... ignition system seems to be a-ok...

I'm somewhat wary of the "go get the parts-gun" approach, but the labor is just enough to make me think...

is there a "normal" failure mileage for the coils?