Sponsored by:

Nitto Invo- Short Term Review

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2014, 01:49 PM
PhilD
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Nitto Invo- Short Term Review

I've been running Nitto Invo tires for just over two months and thought I'd share my thoughts on them.

They replaced Michelin PSS tires that were less than a year old with good tread left on them.

The first thing I noticed is that were much quieter and less harsh feeling. They feel almost soft compared to the PSS and I had to check the pressure a few times to make sure I wasn't running them too low.

Traction in the dry is very good, but when cornering hard they feel like they are about to let go, but they rarely do. Not a very comforting feeling, but once you get a feel for them it is not too bad. Straight line traction is great, it takes a lot to break them away, and I could break the PSS away easier.

In the wet they do quite well and better than I expected. The PSS seemed to be worse in the wet to me and I was never very confident with them, they lost traction all too easily, although it was gradual and not a sudden let go.

I ran them at an autocross last weekend and the fronts never lost traction, unlike the PSS which suffered from a lot of under steer and broke free very easily. The rears really held in there well too, again better than the PSS. However, when they did let go they totally let go and the back end would snap out hard. I found the PSS would let go much more gradually and give you more warning and time to correct. The PSS felt like they had less traction at the rear, but the way the Invo lets go suddenly is not as good as the PSS.

It is worth pointing out at the last autocross it was in 40s and the tires never warmed up. I have definitely felt an improvement in traction when they do get warm.