Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Radar detector?

 
Old 01-24-2014, 01:02 PM
  #1  
Kero
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 43
Default Radar detector?

I've always had a V1 in my car but recently noticed the 12v port on the passenger footwell stays on.

Two questions

Is there a way to have this port turn off when the ignition is off ?

Is there a easy way to wire in a V1 or Passport Max? In my previous car you could buy a wire that hijacked power from the self dimming mirror.

Last edited by Kero; 01-24-2014 at 05:27 PM.
Kero is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 01:24 PM
  #2  
wc11
Super User
 
wc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,104
Default

It's constant because it's primary function was for the battery maintainer.
You could modify it to be switched via an hidden switch (that's what I did) or tied to the ignition switch but then you better remember to flip the switch when you plus in your batter tender.
wc11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 02:38 PM
  #3  
robbonds
User
 
robbonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Saint Petersburg
Posts: 1,293
Default

mine is hardwired to self dimming mirror or light - not sure
robbonds is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 02:59 PM
  #4  
AreaOne
User
 
AreaOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 62
Default

AreaOne is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:02 PM
  #5  
WestCan997
User
 
WestCan997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 111
Default

I used the DIY instructions from the post above and had no problems wiring it in to the mirror. I also modified my V1 mount as I did not want to use the suction cup or sun visor clip.

I used some small bolts and combined the sun visor clip on to the top of main V1 mount. The part that normally would clip to the top of the visor now tucks in between the windshield frame and the head liner.





WestCan997 is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:17 PM
  #6  
Perk10
User
 
Perk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ATL/SW FL
Posts: 583
Default

WestCan- GREAT idea!! I have windshield tint and I currently use the suction cups but over time they WILL pull the tint off if I don't find another way. I also can't use the clip because as you know, the curvy part that you cut off will stick itself into the headliner.

Please show us more detail as to what you did. Just cut the clip? Is that tape at the tip? I'd love to see more!
Perk10 is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 04:25 PM
  #7  
Bruce In Philly
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bruce In Philly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 3,323
Default

Originally Posted by WestCan997 View Post
I also modified my V1 mount as I did not want to use the suction cup or sun visor clip.
Dude, more data... I need to do this. Those darn suction cups suck.... er um blow..... um yea, like a fan, the suck and blow.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Bruce In Philly is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 05:26 PM
  #8  
997v2cabrio
User
 
997v2cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 167
Default

How do you turn off the 12 volt plug in the pass footwell so it only works while the car is on?
997v2cabrio is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 05:33 PM
  #9  
StormRune
Super User
 
StormRune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,375
Default A fusebox tie-in method

Here's a solution that worked well for me and doesn't require splicing into any existing wires. It only takes 15 minutes or so once you have the fusebox tap you need.

First remove the fusebox lid, then remove the screws you'll see at the outer edges of the fusebox holding the carpeting panel in place. With those removed, you can remove the carpeting panel to allow access behind the fuse box to run the wire that I'll describe later. These are the only screws that you'll need to unscrew anywhere during installation and the only panel that needs to be opened.

Run the hard-wired radar detector wire from where it plugs into the detector along the seam in roof lining where it meets the windshield (photo 1). There is a deep channel there. I held the wire from popping back out with a couple of small chunks of rubber foam pushed into the roof lining seam after the wire was in place, but I'm not sure it was necessary. They wire and the pieces can be easily pulled back out if needed in the future.

The run the wire along the channel between the front pillar trim and the glass on front side of the front pillar where you can't see it. Tuck the wire tightly against the pillar along the dash (photo 2, the only place you do see it) then downward under the rubber door seal until you could get the wire into the area behind the fuse box. While you can see the wire in photo 2, it is pretty much unnoticeable and I preferred doing that way as opposed to taking off the pillar trim which looks too risky and difficult.

There is a body-paint-colored nut on a screw that mounts to the body to the left bottom of the fuse box that makes a great grounding point. Simply loosen the nut, attach the detector wire to the screw, then tighten the nut to hold it in place.

Take the positive wire and fish it from the back through the hole in the fuse box next to the fuse puller (visible in photo 3). I actually did this by pushing another wire through from the front, taping it to the detector positive wire, then pulling them both back through. This is like using a fish tape if you know what that is.

Use the crimp connector to connect the detector's positive wire to the fusebox plug I bought at AutoZone. While the one I used (Add-A-Fuse, photo 4) supports being plugged into an occupied fuse position (then piggybacking that fuse into the second slot on the connector), I just plugged it into an unused position that switches with the ignition and only added the one fuse needed for the detector. I think the Add-A-Fuse came with a fuse, but if not, you'll need to buy one (or use one of the spares from the fusebox if you'd rather).

After testing that you have correctly supplied switched power, all you have to do is wind up any extra power cord and store it in the space next to the fusebox where it won't rattle around and put the fusebox carpet panel back in place. I've done this to more than one car for myself and a friend... its simple, reliable, and requires no splicing. It is also very easily removed when I sell the car.
Attached Images     

Last edited by StormRune; 01-24-2014 at 05:44 PM. Reason: Didn't get photos right
StormRune is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 08:39 PM
  #10  
rada
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by wc11 View Post
You could modify it to be switched via an hidden switch (that's what I did)
Hi,

Where is the hidden switch located?
rada is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 10:22 PM
  #11  
wc11
Super User
 
wc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,104
Default

Originally Posted by rada View Post
Hi,

Where is the hidden switch located?
So mine came with the car from the previous owner so I've taken anything apart
to see the details. I didn't event know it was with the car until it went off!

The two sensors are mounted in the front and the switch is in the foot well.
When it goes off, just flip the switch to deactivate.
These things are illegal up here so it's nice that it's hidden.
When fellow Pcar owners who have notice them ask what they are, I just say it's an aftermarket "park assist".
Attached Images     

Last edited by wc11; 01-25-2014 at 10:59 AM.
wc11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 11:00 PM
  #12  
A2b
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 36
Default

These are the best solution for my V1
http://www.bumperplugs.com/index.php...&path=2_26_157
A2b is offline  
Old 01-24-2014, 11:39 PM
  #13  
saabin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
saabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,323
Default

Originally Posted by StormRune View Post
Here's a solution that worked well for me and doesn't require splicing into any existing wires. It only takes 15 minutes or so once you have the fusebox tap you need.

...
I have this install for my 9500ix and it works great.. Was easy to move from my 997S to my turbo when I bought it.
saabin is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 12:00 AM
  #14  
jcnesq
Miserable Old Bastard
Rennlist Member

 
jcnesq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,546
Default

Originally Posted by StormRune View Post
Here's a solution that worked well for me and doesn't require splicing into any existing wires. It only takes 15 minutes or so once you have the fusebox tap you need.
I have this to. Had it done for me while I was having something else done at a high end custom shop that does a lot of stuff for athletes etc. Except where the phone wire drops to the V1, it is completely tucked under the trim and not visible.
jcnesq is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 05:14 AM
  #15  
rada
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by wc11 View Post
So mine came with the car freom the previous owner so I've taken anthing apart
to see the details. I didn't event know it was with the car until it went off!
Ah, it was a non-standard switch. I had mistaken that it was a factory installed hidden switch which I've never heard of. Thanks much anyways. The previous owner seems to have done a really neat job.
rada is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radar detector?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: