Sponsored by:

2006 997 S leaky rear hose - trying to get picture to attach

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 10:34 AM
Mick The Kraken
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2006 997 S leaky rear hose - trying to get picture to attach

Let me see if I can get the attachment to take this time...
Attached Images  
Old 06-04-2013, 10:44 AM
Mick The Kraken
Instructor

Again, this is on a car with 53k miles. I've only just seen this after almosu 2 months of ownership, I'll assume because the weather has begun to really heat up in Houston.

Here's a slightly wider view (though, if you reply I'm betting you know what this is right off the bat):

Thanks again for any guidance you can offer.

- Mick
Attached Images  
Old 06-04-2013, 11:05 AM
7500rpm
Instructor

Default Water pump?

Could it be the water pump which is directly above it? They are known to fail.
Old 06-04-2013, 11:28 AM
iammulva
Racer

If you want or need help working on it, I'm in Houston too. I'm no expert, but I can help with maintenance/replacing parts. My benefit is getting to see how it's done on another car before doing it on mine. I'm at 48k miles so if yours is water pump, mine maybe getting close too. PM me if interested.
Old 06-04-2013, 11:44 AM
Mick The Kraken
Instructor

I suppose it would be wishful thinking to believe it could just be the bolt (that one right there to the right of where the hose meets the housing) not being tight enough, eh? (I'll check it out during lunch.)
Old 06-04-2013, 07:08 PM
PelicanParts.com
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 34 Likes on 19 Posts

Tough to say from the pics but does appear to come from above the hose but again can't diagnose from the pics. Keep us up to date on this please!
888.280.7799 | 6am - 5pm PST
Old 06-04-2013, 08:06 PM
RacingJunkie
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Mick The Kraken
Let me see if I can get the attachment to take this time...