Sponsored by:

Shipping Referrals and associated Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 02:17 PM
mdrobc1213
Rennlist Member

Received 829 Likes on 458 Posts
Default Shipping Referrals and associated Questions

Okay I just got notification from my command/boss that I am being re-assigned to the Pacific NW in July and will be in Tacoma/Seattle area for the next 3-4 yrs. I just got back from a quick visit there to find a house and its a very pretty area. Found a local dealer close by at Porsche of Tacoma (Larsons Auto Porsche Group). Now my dilema is I need to ship 2 out of 4 vehicle up there and I've never done this before. So any guidance and referrals for folks who have previously used companies and tips would be helpful. I've asked my dealer and so far haven't gotten any solid company contacts/referrals back yet. How much can I expect to spend? Is it cheaper to drive them and fly back? I am in San Antonio, Texas so the whole trip is roughly 2000miles...so its a hike. Would make a great and scenic road trip I am sure but not sure its something to do with 2 cars.

Anyway appreciate your tips and thoughts and references for companies you've used. Have heard soo many horror stories about lost and damaged cars so I'd want some one good especially if I end up shipping my C4S or the wife's new Panamera or my A7. Thanks
Old 05-09-2012, 02:33 PM
AP997S
Pro

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

I think you need to decide closed or open trailer first. The condition, value, etc. of the vehicles will (IMHO) dictate which method. I've used InterCity in the past and although they are not 'cheap' they offer great & reliable service. There are many carriers and I'm sure if you search the various forums (Rennlist, 6speed, etc) you'll find a ton of information and recommendations.

Good luck and enjoy the rain (lol)
Old 05-09-2012, 04:32 PM
mdrobc1213
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by AP997S