Wondering if: 911=Miata/335i ?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2009, 12:18 PM
Nothern
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wondering if: 911=Miata/335i ?

Hi everyone, great forum. Newbie here.
I am hoping to buy a new base 911 in the next year or two. I have owned a Miata for many years, and up until this past summer have owned a 335i sport coupe for two years (traded it in on a 328i for wife, and hopefully a 911 for myself). My question: is a 911 a combination of, a Miata with better handling and a 335i with more power? I do not track my cars but I do like to drive aggressively (within the law of course). I hope I am not out of line comparing a Miata and a 3 series to a Porsche.

Alex
Old 12-13-2009, 12:28 PM
Para82
Race Car

Received 38 Likes on 24 Posts

This must be a joke. Where are all these 335i people coming from?
Old 12-13-2009, 01:13 PM
Betternotbigger
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The 911 combines the virtues of those two cars extremely well. But it offers far more than either of them.

No, it's not as light and nimble as the Mazda, nor a quiet and refined as the Beemer, but every time you sit in the 911 you'll know you did the right thing.
Old 12-13-2009, 01:58 PM
ADias
Nordschleife Master

Received 395 Likes on 271 Posts

Originally Posted by Para82
This must be a joke. Where are all these 335i people coming from?
Indeed! And the reply after yours rationalizes everything except what matters - That is that the 11 is an all-in-the-rear architecture and the others are not.
Old 12-13-2009, 02:00 PM
Nugget
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts

I can't speak to the 3 series, the only BMW I've owned was a Z3 M Roadster which was about as un-miata-like and un-porsche-like as I can imagine.

I think you're right on target with the Miata comparison. The 911 and the Miata do share the same sort of gestalt. Both cars were designed by passionate enthuaists (Bob Hall and Ferdinand Porsche) for passionate enthusiasts.