Sponsored by:

How Bad are the Roads in the US - just a comment

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2008, 07:49 PM
doug928
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How Bad are the Roads in the US - just a comment

Just got back from a trek to NJ for the day before the deluge of rain started here in the Northeast and I have to comment that the roads in NY and most of NJ were just pitiful. Question for the rest of the country, are the roads filled with potholes and poor attempts at filling the potholes? The roads seem worse than usuall and I've been driving for over 25 years and haven't noticed them to be this bad in years past. Where are our tax dollars going?
Old 03-07-2008, 07:55 PM
p-cardriver
Burning Brakes

Drove from SE Mich to Chicago and back last week. The roads the entire way were bad, including in and around Chicago. Worst was (and always seems to have been) in northern Indiana.

I was talking with some union reps today and they are pretty sure its a combination of bad design (we know the conditions but design as if frost heaves don't happen, and there are roads that have lasted where better designs have been used), and low funding for both construction and maintenance. Of course the actual construction work has been beyond reproach.

When I drive around the country I see the same thing, even in warm climates. I think it is really a combination of under-design, poor construction and materials, and inadequate maintenance. A real trifecta!
Old 03-07-2008, 07:59 PM
axhoaxho
Three Wheelin'

Here is San Francisco Bay Area, many roads are getting poor and lacked of maintenance too. Even when they repair the roads they just patch it, and sometimes make it worse (left & right tires on different patches in the same lane). In the cities, they sometimes just putting some steel plates on the roads to cover the bad sections instead of repairing it.

I found that instead of enjoying my car on the road, I was busy dodging the potholes instead.

With best regards,