Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Radar Detector Hardwire (Escort 9500 smartcord)

 
Old 03-18-2012, 05:43 PM
  #16  
fayraree
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I guess you guys won't be driving your cars into states where detectors are illegal, as you display them in the open?
fayraree is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:05 PM
  #17  
Dutchie in NC
User
 
Dutchie in NC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Denver, CO (left NC)
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Virginia is I believe the only state in the nation where it is illegal to have a radar detector... Long way from Denver.

I had the same setup in my 996 when I lived in Charlotte, NC... No problem when I went into VA... Just took the radar detector out.
Dutchie in NC is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:08 PM
  #18  
fayraree
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dutchie in NC View Post
Virginia is I believe the only state in the nation where it is illegal to have a radar detector... Long way from Denver.

I had the same setup in my 996 when I lived in Charlotte, NC... No problem when I went into VA... Just took the radar detector out.
just my luck that i live in VA
fayraree is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:11 PM
  #19  
Dutchie in NC
User
 
Dutchie in NC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Denver, CO (left NC)
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bummer! Lots of nice drives there though and you have VIR!!
Dutchie in NC is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:26 PM
  #20  
fayraree
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

what's VIR?
fayraree is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 07:55 PM
  #21  
gota911
Newbies Hospitality Director
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
gota911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 18,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Virginia International Raceway
gota911 is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 11:17 PM
  #22  
fayraree
User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

o snap. need to learn more about whats around me, i'm a toronto boy...
fayraree is offline  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:07 PM
  #23  
malexgcab
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
malexgcab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 709
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I finally got tired of plugging in my V1. My other car has it hardwired, so I tried this thread. Worked great...less than 30 minutes and $7 fuse tap.

Thanks
malexgcab is offline  
Old 05-18-2013, 08:02 PM
  #24  
Rhody
User
 
Rhody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just wanted to say thank you for all of the help and knowledge on this forum. I just hardwire installed my 9500ix and it was so easy with the pictures and instructions. Thanks everyone for sharing.
Rhody is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 11:44 PM
  #25  
saabin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
saabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I did this mod today for my 9500ix. Easy to do - turned out great. Thanks for the tips!
saabin is offline  
Old 10-13-2013, 02:49 PM
  #26  
fskof
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fskof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Posts: 1,892
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

How to hardwire a Radar Detector is very simple job and takes no skill to do it. It took me 30 min to do mine the first time and only 18min to do my friends car. Very simple.
One tip I have is to use a plastic credit card when pushing the wire under the headliner. Dont use anything sharp like a screw driver where you can leave scratches or pinch the wire.
Great Job
fskof is offline  
Old 01-14-2016, 08:45 AM
  #27  
Carrera Mike
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Carrera Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Right Coast
Posts: 3,773
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

or instead of making a notch on the side of the fuse box, you could just route the wire right in the fuse puller tool existing hole.
Good Post.
Attached Images   
Carrera Mike is offline  
Old 01-14-2016, 10:37 AM
  #28  
Coochas
Impeccable record
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Coochas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 01776
Posts: 9,302
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Carrera Mike View Post
or instead of making a notch on the side of the fuse box, you could just route the wire right in the fuse puller tool hole.
Good Post.
Oooooh, I like that Mike! I still need to hardwire my 09. Hmmmmm.
Coochas is online now  
Old 01-14-2016, 01:55 PM
  #29  
stevepow
User
 
stevepow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,802
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Coochas View Post
Oooooh, I like that Mike! I still need to hardwire my 09. Hmmmmm.
I ran my wire down along and through a little slot where the "door" / cover tabs fit in. Takes a little care closing the cover, but has been fine for years now. I also got some matching connectors at Radio Shack that I put on the fuse tap so I didn't have to splice any wires or cut up the SmartCord. This was handy when I took out the SmartCordLive and replaced it with a normal SmartCord for the 360 I just got.
stevepow is offline  
Old 01-14-2016, 03:02 PM
  #30  
Coochas
Impeccable record
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Coochas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 01776
Posts: 9,302
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stevepow View Post
I ran my wire down along and through a little slot where the "door" / cover tabs fit in. Takes a little care closing the cover, but has been fine for years now. I also got some matching connectors at Radio Shack that I put on the fuse tap so I didn't have to splice any wires or cut up the SmartCord. This was handy when I took out the SmartCordLive and replaced it with a normal SmartCord for the 360 I just got.
I just got a Max 360 as well. Nice upgrade.
Coochas is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Another Radar Detector Hardwire (Escort 9500 smartcord)


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: