Sponsored by:

997 Short Shift ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 10:40 AM
AJKOK1
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997 Short Shift ?

Now first up, I know I should probably have asked the question before I signed the order, but, impulse took the better of me.

I have just purchased a new 997 Carrera S, it was sat in the showroom and i just loved the color (Cobalt blue) and Wheels. Anyway, I have just noticed on the paperwork that it has a Short Shift kit fitted. Does anyone have any experience of this option as I've never tried one.

As I'm new to the 997 forum ( ex 996 C4 and 964 C2) I have included a picture from the showroom last saturday. Collect the car this weekend.

Old 09-27-2006, 10:53 AM
Deanski
Three Wheelin'

Known as "Sport Shift", it works quite well in reduction of shift throw per gear. I've got it on my C2S. You'll notice that when cold, it may be stiff getting into 1st, but once warm, it shifts like a rifle-bolt!

Deanski
Old 09-27-2006, 11:00 AM
Tedder Bear
Needs a Chuckle
Rennlist Member

Received 80 Likes on 33 Posts

Drove several with & w/o the sport shifter. Would have ordered it as a factory option but I bought mine off the lot. However, I don't feel strongly enough about it to have it installed after the fact.

Also, really like your car (especially the color & interior), but you did notice the placement of the steering wheel, didn't you?
Old 09-27-2006, 11:04 AM
texas911
Race Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I love mine.
Old 09-27-2006, 11:06 AM
Drmark
Racer

997s handle much better with the steering wheel on that side....
Old 09-27-2006, 11:08 AM
AJKOK1
Instructor

Originally Posted by Tedder Bear
Drove several with & w/o the sport shifter. Would have ordered it as a factory option but I bought mine off the lot. However, I don't feel strongly enough about it to have it installed after the fact.