Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tip Talk – Is the Tip on the 997 an improvement over the 996?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005, 12:37 PM
OCBen
Banned

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Tip Talk – Is the Tip on the 997 an improvement over the 996?

I’ve always been a fan of automatic transmissions ever since I was impressed as a kid by the mean patch of rubber laid down by a posi-traction MoPar automatic – a Dodge Charger, I believe it was, an orange one – the fastest, baddest car around our neck of the woods. As kids on our bikes we used to fantasize about someday having a stick-shift Chevy or Mustang. Manual trannies with Hurst shifters ruled! That is, until that day our jaws dropped and our illusions were shattered by the awesome power of that MoPar automatic.

I realized later, of course, that it was due to the tremendous power of that hemi engine that made the automatic appear superior to a manual. And as a mechanical engineering student I learned to appreciate the labor saving work that machines can do for us, even though it aways comes at a price. So it really wasn’t a difficult decision for me to choose an automatic as my first sports car as a college graduate – my current daily driver, my ‘85 300ZX. Having an automatic as a daily driver sure makes the hassle of stop-and-go, bumper-to-bumper driving a lot easier to live with. And when I would get on it for an occasional street race the automatic would shift crisply (sometimes breaking the tires loose) at optimum shift points without the worry of ever missing a shift (obviously). Three transmissions later (I gave up street racing after the last one died on me) I became convinced that Nissan didn’t build their slush boxes as robust as those, say, on a Corvette. It seemed that since the overwhelming majority of their Z cars would be sold as manuals, that little R&D was spent on developing a truly robust automatic. Which leads me to wonder about the robustness of the Tiptronic that