Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do you drive the Porsche to a client office?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2005, 09:13 PM
1080iAddict
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Do you drive the Porsche to a client office?

Forgive me if this has been asked, but I am curious if you guys drive your cars to client offices. I have always heard two theories:

1. No. I do not. Clients will b!tch about my fees and rates and say I am overpaid. Clients will jaz me to no end about the size of my contract and profit margins. I will never hear the end of it. I therefore drive a daily driver to client offices.

2. Yes. It shows that despite my rates and fees, I am a successful professional and it is not just you that is paying the rate but everyone else also and they dont have a problem with the car. I work hard, play hard, and earn my fee. Therefore, I drive to client offices. It shows I am successful which is why you should continue to retain my services.

I am quite hesitant to drive to client offices because I dont think they need to know I own a $100,000 car and I don't want my employees to know either. On the other hand, I am always the last out of the office and I am ready to say screw it - i dont care if they see me and I am working hard so it 'is what it is'.

I will tell you i am a lawyer but I think this question would apply to consultants, salespeople, managers, etc. Assume for purposes of my question that the client that pays the bills and makes the decisions happens to be outside with co-workers smoking a butt and see you drive up (the "worst case" scenerio).

-Adam
Old 08-10-2005, 09:43 PM
Leader
Rennlist Member

Received 521 Likes on 163 Posts