Sponsored by:

Got a dash rattle?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2005, 01:39 AM
JohnnyBahamas
Race Car

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Got a dash rattle?

I thought I'd post this in case anyone else is also slowly losing their sanity while hunting a similar rattle. You never know, this could be it....

I've been hunting this dash rattle down for 8 months and I finally found the little bastard. Thought it was in the driver's dash speaker housing or behind the instrument cluster but, it turns out, it was under the steering column and behind the knee bolster coming from the rust colored electrical clip attached to a clutch actuator switch. To find it just scoot the seat back, follow the clutch lever up to the little plastic plunger switch, and find the rust colored electrical connector powering the switch. I wrapped a piece of electrical tape once around the rust colored electrical connector and it's little yellow clip and... no rattle! It is like having a new car.

Hope that it helps someone.

Last edited by JohnnyNarcosis; 05-21-2005 at 01:03 PM. Reason: bolster not bloster
Old 05-21-2005, 03:00 AM
SrfCity
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Thanks for the info. I just got my car back for the third try with rattle fixes. Apparently the guy removed some of the dash for the area you described. That one seems to be gone now. I'll check the thing you mentioned. Now if they could only get the vibration in the center console and the creaking in the rear near the glass, especially when the car is cold. I've pretty much given up on the dealer and will have to go it alone from here on in
Old 05-21-2005, 11:12 AM
PV
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Very handy tips. Don't have it yet, but as soon as it pops up, I know where to look for. Maybe I'm going to tape it up already right now, before it starts.
Old 05-21-2005, 01:43 PM
Atlas.
Intermediate