Sponsored by:

Outer CV joint boot leaking

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2020, 08:05 PM
TheTorch
Rennlist Member

Received 398 Likes on 275 Posts
Default Outer CV joint boot leaking

My 2010 C4S passenger side outer CV joint boot appears to have been leaking grease due to a loose oetiker clamp. I can easily spin the clamp around with my fingers, and the grease seems to have escaped just out that side of the CV axle (and sprayed around a bit). I thought I could pickup a Oetiker clamp tool and cinch it back up, but it looks fully crimped and it's just too big.

Anyone know if I can open up a new oetiker clamp and wrap it around then crimp so I don't have to pull the whole CV joint apart just to slide a clamp on?

Any tips welcome. Thx

Last edited by TheTorch; 01-20-2020 at 09:03 PM. Reason: updated notes about existing clamp
Old 01-20-2020, 09:14 PM
bschurr
Racer

Received 159 Likes on 108 Posts
Default I am no expert but...

(it looks like that may have been going on for a while)

Instead of simply fixing the clamp and calling it a day, it may be prudent to open it up and confirm there are no other issues, contaminants or gremlins lurking and then once everything checks out, lube her & seal her up.

good luck!
Old 01-20-2020, 09:19 PM
TheTorch
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by bschurr
(it looks like that may have been going on for a while)

Instead of simply fixing the clamp and calling it a day, it may be prudent to open it up and confirm there are no other issues, contaminants or gremlins lurking and then once everything checks out, lube her & seal her up.

good luck!
Is there an "easy" way to slide the boot to do that, or are we talking about pulling the whole joint apart? the outer clamp looks awfully hard to remove and replace in place, i mean without pulling the whole axle out.

Last edited by TheTorch; 01-20-2020 at 09:39 PM. Reason: outer clamp detail
Old 01-20-2020, 09:59 PM
bschurr
Racer

Originally Posted by TheTorch