Old 12-15-2019 | 12:35 AM
318touring
Pro

Default Video Part 8 "The 3.8L Scoring Duo" is out

The original thread is closed hence this new thread

Old 12-15-2019 | 01:22 AM
Doug H
Nordschleife Master

I am sure everybody owning M9X cars wanted to see that. Heck, I have been saying this since 2017 that there is no telling how many of these cars are cruisiing around out there and the owner has no clue that the engine is scored. The only reason these two cars showed up for expensive rebuilds now is because people are looking for scoring now. That’s your 600% increase.

I think I would just keep driving the dang thing until it died if it was asymptotic and ran fine. Why bother even looking for it or thinking about if not selling. Drive it until it dies. It’s not like finding scoring before it dies is going to dramatically change the outcome.

BTW, inherent problem is tantamount to manufacturing defect. Let’s call it what it is.
Old 12-15-2019 | 07:30 AM
door2416
Instructor

There is part 9 out and Jake reveals that the black car's engine had already been replaced with a factory new engine and only has 10k miles on it. With only 10k miles this engine could only be on it's second oil change. This is not just "Bad Luck".

Last edited by door2416; 12-15-2019 at 10:17 AM.
Old 12-15-2019 | 08:50 AM
rtl5009
Three Wheelin'

Damn. Does it ever say where the cars were located or other external factors? Any mention of 3rd radiator and LTT?

Old 12-15-2019 | 09:07 AM
Chris M.
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by rtl5009
Does it ever say where the cars were located?
I asked that in the other thread and didn’t get an answer.
Old 12-15-2019 | 10:50 AM
rtl5009
Three Wheelin'