Sponsored by:

Shifter cable install / coolant frustration

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2019, 12:46 PM
Xios
Instructor

Received 40 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Shifter cable install / coolant frustration

They sound diametrically opposed but as Im trying to press the firewall grommet back in I applied some (not much) pressure to the coolant line in the photo and coolant began to dribble out. Are these clamps so sensitive or might I have a problem with the connection? Never had a drop of anything under the car. Thanks

Old 12-14-2019, 10:28 PM
systech
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 20 Posts

I have limited experience with these lines but my experience is that they tend to start their demise by weeping. I would hazard a guess and say you may have found an impending serious leak and assuming the joints are corroded I would replace them.
Old 12-14-2019, 10:34 PM
HenryPcar
Three Wheelin'

Received 233 Likes on 168 Posts

The metal part of the hose connector should go into the male connector fully. There is a rubber 0 ring on the inside diameter that seals it. However, once you disconnect it, that seal is broken and you have to clean the mating surface to get a good seal. I also tend to use silicon grease, which is inert with rubber o-rings, to get a good seal. Then the wire clip be seated fully to secure it. The way the o-rings works is that the higher the pressure the coolants generate, the better the seal.....up to a point.
Old 12-15-2019, 10:47 AM
Xios
Instructor

Received 40 Likes on 23 Posts

Thanks for the responses

@systech I don't believe that its a rust or part failure issue. This is the first time I removed the belly pan and everything looks like new. It's a low milage car 17k on the clock. I believe, because I applied pressure to the top side of the coolant line (while installing Numeric cables, a whole other story), that I may have broken the seal.