Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Onwer's Manual - No warmup - Do you read?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2019, 08:21 PM
Bruce In Philly
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,419 Likes on 861 Posts
Default Onwer's Manual - No warmup - Do you read?

2009 C2S 130K miles.

OK, do you read your manual? Do you agree with what is in there or do you know better?

Please describe areas of the owner's manual you feel are controversial and why?

Read the last two bullets (Fs?) under "Starting the Engine" . No mention of reaching operating temperature and definitely no idling to warm up.

Peace
Bruce in Philly

Old 02-19-2019, 08:45 PM
C4SDayton
Pro

Received 57 Likes on 48 Posts

I'm a newbie, so I'll bite. Idling 1 minute does no warmup obviously. I've seen here and elsewhere people have said letting fast idle go to normal idle is fine or what they do. That's a minute or less in warm weather or 1-2 min in freezing temps. I'd be happy with any definitive answer. Manual implies hitting 4k rpm is ok during first 5 minutes too, something I don't do as well, so I guess I'm going to have to adjust there as well
Old 02-19-2019, 08:54 PM
Iceter
Drifting

Received 412 Likes on 243 Posts

Porsche or Chevrolet, no manufacturer I’m aware of recommends idling until warmed up. It’s bad for engines.

The best warm up is always driving at moderate speeds until the coolant and oil is up to temperature.

I know now a guy whose wife has a remote starter on her car and she lets it run for 30 minutes or more every morning so it can warm up and heat the interior in the winter and cool the cabin down in the summer. I’d love to compare the wear in that engine with one that hasn’t seen that abuse.
Old 02-19-2019, 09:22 PM
BradtheAg
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

My approach is no idling, drive immediately, keep it under 3500 RPM and be mechanically sympathetic until oil is up to operating temp.
Old 02-19-2019, 09:28 PM
DesmoSD
Three Wheelin'