Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What's the most fun 997 cabrio?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2018 | 07:55 PM
Montecarlohomme
Track Day

Default What's the most fun 997 cabrio?

Greetings everyone. I am a lapsed Rennlist member from years ago, long time lurker, and lapsed owner of a few 911s. I also own a few Maranello monsters and I'm a journalist who occasionally writes about and so gets to review nice cars. I think this board is fantastic and I have a dilemma.

I sold my 996 TT S coupe manual a year ago because it was great but not fun enough. I'm looking for a replacement, with a bit of extra budget to put in, and I have my family's blessing so long as it's a convertible.

I would drive this car a few sunny weekends a year, that's all, which makes no sense but lots of fun things don't..

my question is, what do I buy for the fun factor? 996 is a bit plasticky for me and I don't want anything older. (I had older 911s when I was less old myself). My memories of 997 TT is a car that's faster than 996 but no more fun..maybe I'm wrong.

GTS 2 cabrio? TT cabrio manual? TT S cabrio PDK?

Or or am I barking up the wrong tree- are all these just too competent and complete to be fun cars, and should I just buy the Gallardo my small child hankers after?

I appreciate there are some similar questions here already but this is specifically about a cabrio. I'm not too worried about transmission type.

any advice welcomed.
Old 03-16-2018 | 11:33 PM
Balr14
Burning Brakes

I have a C2S PDK cabrio, but I wouldn't turn down a TTS PDK cabrio, if somebody wanted to give me one! However, I have to say if I had the money, I'd buy an Audi R8 Spyder (or it's Lambo brother). I've never driven anything else quite like them.
Old 03-17-2018 | 03:55 AM
Racetwin2
Three Wheelin'

To me the GTS cabrio is a fantastic choice. 400+ hp and lowest std chassi SPASM, it has widebody despite that it's 2WD. I don't remember if it has the LSD as std but I suspect many has it as option.