Sponsored by:

suspension interchangeability

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2017, 02:33 PM
ehjun
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default suspension interchangeability

Hi all. Im still very new to porsche and ive been trying read as much as i can. I came across a post that said all 996 and 997 suspension parts are interchangeable. is this true?

I'm namely interested in shocks and coilovers. I have a 4s and some companies say their coilovers work for 4s/2s/turbo and others just say 2/2s only or turbo only ect. it would make sense that turbo/4/4s stuff would be the same within the same chassis generation but what about between 996 and 997?
Old 11-17-2017, 11:18 PM
kisik
Rennlist Member

Received 59 Likes on 38 Posts

What is wrong with your nice stock PASM 997 suspension? 996 didn't have PASM. You can always buy Bilstein parts to save money to replace worn shocks. If you really want coilovers, best bang is used GT3 PASM coilovers (+ a few parts). For any specific companies like JRZs you can reach out to them directly for comparability. AWD cars have different coilover setups then non AWD.
Old 11-19-2017, 12:22 AM
ehjun
Track Day

so does that mean they are physically interchangeable but have different damping and spring rates? nothing is wrong with my stock suspension. just not low enough and i like the adjust-ability of coils vs springs
Old 11-19-2017, 01:39 PM
kisik
Rennlist Member

Received 59 Likes on 38 Posts

996s don't have your PASM struts. If you want to lower your car for cosmetic reasons you can just change springs for cheap. If you want spent money anyways, then you can buy Bilstein B16s or even Olhins (no PASM).
Old 11-19-2017, 02:03 PM
Bruce In Philly
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,648 Likes on 983 Posts

2009 C2S