Sponsored by:

Weight Reduction

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2003, 06:22 PM
Apex Late
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Weight Reduction

This is a question for the tuning experts.

I primarily use my 02 TT for track days. I am an instructor and I have a fair bit of seat time behind the wheel of racecars. As we are all aware, at 3400 lbs the TT is not a racecar and was likely never intended to be pushed to its limits on the track. Pushing the car as I have has resulted in a number of brake related problems. I considered getting rid of the car and moving to a GT2 or GT3 but the market is not great and I am not looking to take a bath on a perfectly good car. I have decided to cut weight and upgrade brakes to make the car more useable for my purposes. This brings me to my question.

Firstly, I believe that the two best (performance wise) brake options are the Brembo GT and the Brembo Le Mans. Is that an accurate assessment? As an added bonus I will save between 27-38 lbs of Un-sprung weight, which is good. My next question is, if performance is my main concern, is it better to continue with Un-sprung weight reductions like BBS Magnesium wheels (20lbs) or look at greater overall weight reductions like GT3 Seats (60lbs)? I am aware that both would be the best option and I may in fact go in that direction but my question is incase I have to choose. I am not sure how power to weight ratios are affected by un-sprung vs. sprung weight reductions.

Your opinions are greatly appreciated.
Old 11-02-2003, 01:09 AM
adrial
Nordschleife Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Apex Late,

What brake pads are you using? If you're using stock, I expect you will greatly reduce or completely eliminate your braking problems by going to a more track orientated pad. This is assuming that the problem you are encountering is fade.
Old 11-02-2003, 04:09 AM
msindi
Three Wheelin'

Chad - do you have the part numbers for those brake air ducts/deflectors??
Old 11-02-2003, 12:10 PM
BC