PSM issue, Any input ???

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2014, 01:57 PM
George_B
Advanced

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default PSM issue, Any input ???

Hi,

Last weekend i drove a DE at Watkins Glen and i had an issue with my 2001 996 turbo with a Tiptronic transmission. The PSM was kicking on in places that it should not have been on at all. This is not my first event i have been doing DE's for three years now with this car and it has NEVER happened before. For the rest of the event i simply shut off the PSM and the car was fine. This car is well maintained.

One of my good friends asked me if i had done anything to the transmission. Last fall after my last DE i had the transmission flushed. The car has (52k on the odometer). He thinks that maybe they did not follow proper procedures when changing the fluid. My guess is that i'm going to have a difficult time proving to the shop that they caused the problem.

The only other thing i did to the car (other than oil changes and flushing the brake fluid) was installed new rear tires (proper sizes all Hankook V12Evo) the fronts still had more than 60 % tread life.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
George
Old 06-09-2014, 02:42 PM
Kevinmacd
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Maybe a wheel sensor going bad, or a bad electrical connection or wire break to the sensor.
Old 06-09-2014, 03:09 PM
"02996ttx50
Banned

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by George_B
The only other thing i did to the car (other than oil changes and flushing the brake fluid) was installed new rear tires (proper sizes all Hankook V12Evo) the fronts still had more than 60 % tread life.
^^ there's your culprit.
Old 06-09-2014, 03:21 PM
rmc1148
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I would guess rear tires also would put old back on for test or replace as a set.
Old 06-09-2014, 03:28 PM
George_B
Advanced

Really ??? i know tire diameters are important on the AWD system, but that critical ??? Wow !!!