Sponsored by:

Road Trip - Watkins Glen DE

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2010, 10:56 AM
JG 996T
Rennlist Member

Received 531 Likes on 289 Posts
Default Road Trip - Watkins Glen DE

Just got back from a 950 mile road trip in the turbo. New Jersey to Watkins Glen to Albany NY and back. Ride from NJ across Pa to Watkins/Horseheads was in pouring rain. Ride across NY on 90 to Albany was also in the rain. Car was great on both days - street tires did fine in the wet.

Car now has 46,000 miles - had the oil changed at about 44,500 - and its still showing full capacity. Nice.

I attended the NNJR PCA event at Watkins - first time doing a DE in the turbo. The other 3 times was in a 09 Shelby GT500 (Lime Rock, Monticello, NJMP). So, I'm a novice. My 02 is totally stock, except for brake fluid.

My instructor at Watkins was great - he also has an 02 Turbo. His car was stock except for suspension (pss9), rotors, pads, tires, and seats/5-point harness. I went for a ride along and its amazing how much faster one can go with: experience, the right line, and modest modifications. Reinforced the idea that new turbos or flashes aren't needed to go fast, just more seat time (for now).

As many of you know, the turns at Watkins - except for the off camber - are all banked, and when hit that banking right you can really accelerate much earlier on exiting the turn. Its like being in a chute. In sum, the car performed wonderfully, I drove it home, and I learned a lot. Can't wait for the next event!

Here are a few photos (my car is no. 11).-

Last edited by JG 996T; 10-21-2013 at 12:06 PM.
Old 08-23-2010, 11:19 AM
Tytus
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post