Sponsored by:

Attorney needed for help with Lemon

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 09:28 PM
Letmebegus
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Attorney needed for help with Lemon

Thanks everyone for your help, I'll let you know how it turns out.

Last edited by Letmebegus; 03-14-2010 at 09:51 AM. Reason: privacy
Old 03-11-2010, 10:46 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 252 Likes on 222 Posts

Originally Posted by Letmebegus
Recently purchased an 996tt with warranty, car was sold in excellent 100% working condition, I have owned for very few miles and facing $12k in repairs that warranty company has turned down due to misuse/abuse.

Don't want to give out too much info - never know who is watching
I'm not a lawyer, but I don't think lemon laws apply.

Consumer protection laws apply, more specifically those related to extended service contracts (which is what you probably bought though it may have been referred to as an extended warranty), with maybe a touch of general fair claim and settlements thrown in.

I can't speak for any attorneys but likely they'll not want to get involved cause there's not enough money.

This doesn't mean you can't get legal help. Some attorneys will offer free consultation or charge a small fee for the first one. My experience is you'll find one that while he (or she) may not want the case will spend some time (30 minutes or so, maybe longer over several over the phone sessions) discussing
the situation with you and offering you some guidance as how to proceed.

Also, I have in the past offered to pay an attorney's hourly rate for say 30 minutes to 1 hour of his/her time just to have someone to run things by and get some legal input as to how to proceed. When one is dealing with thousands of dollars, a few hundred for an hour's worth of an attorney's time is insignificant.