Sponsored by:

996TT vs. 996NA, maintenance / reliability / Longevity

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2006, 01:11 AM
bellwilliam
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 996TT vs. 996NA, maintenance / reliability / Longevity

I've been shopping for 2002+ 996, and realized there are some 996TT that can be had for not much more (25-50%). Since TT is my dream car, I am starting to look into TT ownership. My main concern is with cost of ownership.

How does 996TT compare to 996?

1. I've read that 996TT use a more robust engine. does that mean it is more reliable? better longevity? how about the transmission? is TT's more reliable?

2. Are they basically (mechanically) the same car (other than power of course) ? if so, cost of ownership should be any higher, right? example, does a brake job cost more on a TT? does a tuneup cost more on a TT?

pretty sure there are a few parts that will cost quite a bit more (TT will need turbos later in life). but if TT is more reliable (engine wise), then cost of ownership should even out in the long run.

am I just rationalizing? trying to convinc myself of TT ownership. may be TT do cost as much as a Ferrari to maintain !!

thanks all for your input.

Last edited by bellwilliam; 09-08-2006 at 02:04 PM.
Old 09-08-2006, 09:48 AM
99firehawk
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

major maitanence is mor e frequent on a turbo 30k instead of 60k, and it is mroe work to change the spakr plugs so it is slightly more expensive. The engines are bullet proof Ive seen 3 fail in the last 5 years, and one was an evo 750 car with nitrous, Turbos dont go bad on these cars, I have replaced one and it didnt fix the problem ive seen a few 100k+ turbos that have never needed turbos, transmissions last as long as the driver will let it. poor driving on either car can lead to damaged transmissions and smoked clutchs.
The turbos have bigger brakes so when it needs brakes it will be slightly more, but it also stops better